Transportation Archaeologists/Cultural Resource Managers by State

Assembled by ISAS, January 2008. 6th Iteration

The following list includes, at a minimum, a contact point in each state for transportation-related archaeological inquiries. The list does not attempt to include all archaeological staff. For that information please contact the individual state offices.

 

Requests for changes to this list should be directed to:

Rose Smith
Production Coordinator, Statewide Office
rjsmth@illinois.edu
(217) 300-0162

 

ALABAMA

William B. Turner Archaeologist/CRC, Sr.
Alabama Department of Transportation Environmental Technical Section
1409 Coliseum Blvd
Montgomery, AL 36130
Phone: (334) 242-6144
Fax: (334) 269-0826
turnerw@dot.state.al.us

ALASKA

Bill Ballard
State Environmental Manager
3132 Channel Dr.,
P.O. Box 112500
Juneau, AK 99811-2500
Phone: (907)465-6954
Fax: (907)465-5240
bill.ballard@alaska.gov

 

ARIZONA

Kae Neustadt, MA
Historic Preservation Coordinator
ADOT Environmental Planning Group
1221 S. 2nd Ave, MD T100
Tucson, AZ 85713
Phone: (520) 388-4256
Fax: (520) 388-4255
Mobile: (602) 689-5467
KNeustadt@azdot.gov

 

David Zimmerman
Historic Preservation Specialist
Environmental Planning Group
Arizona Department of Transportation
1801 S. Milton Rd. MD F-500
Flagstaff, AZ. 86001
Phone: (928) 779-7577
Mobile: (928) 607-7332 (cell)
Fax: (928) 774-0784 (fax)
dzimmerman@azdot.gov

 

Ruth L. Greenspan
Historic Preservation Specialist
Arizona Department of Transportation
1611 W. Jackson Street, MD EM02
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
Phone: (602) 712-6266
Fax: (602) 712-3066
RGreenspan@azdot.gov

 

ARKANSAS

John Miller III
Section Head-Archaeology
Arkansas State Highways and Transportation Department
10324 Interstate 30
Little Rock, Arkansas 72209
Phone: (501) 569-2283

 

CALIFORNIA

Annmarie Medin
Archaeology Branch
Phone: (916) 653-6187
anmarie_medin@dot.ca.gov

 

Glenn Gmoser
Special Projects Archaeology
Phone: (916) 651-8167
glenn_gmoser@dot.ca.gov

 

Greg King, Chief
Cultural and Community Studies Office
(916) 653-0647
Greg_King@dot.ca.gov

 

Tina Biorn, Chief
Native American Cultural Branch
(916) 653-0013
Tina_Biorn@dot.ca.gov

 

Jill Hupp, Chief
Section 106 and History, Architecture, and Community Studies Branches
Phone: (916) 654-3567
Jill_Hupp@dot.ca.gov

 

Gloria Scott, Chief
Built Environment Preservation Services Branch
Phone: (916) 653-1029
Gloria_Scott@dot.ca.gov

 

Cultural and Community Studies Office
Division of Environmental Analysis (MS27)
California Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 942874
Sacramento, CA 94273-0001

 

[Back to top]

 

COLORADO

Dan Jepson
Senior Staff Archaeologist
Cultural Resources Section Manager
Environmental Programs Branch
Colorado Department of Transportation
4201 E. Arkansas Avenue
Denver, CO 80222
Phone: (303) 757-9631
Daniel.Jepson@dot.state.co.us

 

CONNECTICUT

Keith T. Hall
Division of Environmental Planning
Connecticut Department of Transportation
2800 Berlin Turnpike
Newington, CT 06131-7546
Phone: (860) 594-2926

 

DELAWARE

Kevin Cunningham
Environmental Studies
Delaware Department of Transportation
P.O. Box 778 - 800 Bay Road
Dover, DE 19904
Kevin.Cunningham@state.de.us

 

FLORIDA

George Ballo
Community Resources
State Environmental Management Office,
Florida Department of Transportation
605 Suwannee Street - MS 37,
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone: (850) 414-5259
Fax: (850) 414-4443
george.ballo@dot.state.fl.us

 

[Back to top]

 

GEORGIA

Rowe Bowen
Cultural Resources Section
Office of Environment/Location
Georgia Department of Transportation
3993 Aviation Circle
Atlanta, Georgia 30336
Phone: (404) 699-4400

 

HAWAII

No Information.
Send information to: hemrich@illinois.edu

 

IDAHO

Marc Munch
State Highway Archaeologist
Environmental Section, Division of Highways
Idaho Transportation Department
3311 W. State Street · P.O. Box 7129
Boise, ID 83707-1129
Phone: (208) 334-8449
marc.munch@itd.idaho.gov

 

ILLINOIS

Brad Koldehoff
Illinois Department of Transportation
Chief Archaeologist/Cultural Resources Unit Chief (Acting)
2300 South Dirksen Parkway,
Springfield, IL 62764
Phone: (217) 785-7833
brad.koldehoff@illinois.gov

 

Thomas E. Emerson
Interim Director, Illinois State Archaeological Survey
(joint IDOT-University of Illinois Intergovernmental Program)
209 Nuclear Physics Lab
23 East Stadium Drive
Champaign, IL 61820
Phone: (217) 244-4244
Fax: (217) 244-7458
teee@illinois.edu

 

INDIANA

Staffan D. Peterson, Ph.D.
Manager, Cultural Resources Office
Environmental Services
Indiana Department of Transportation
100 N. Senate Ave., IGCN, Room N642
Indianapolis, IN 46204
Phone: (317) 232-5161
Mobile: (812) 679-9514
stpeterson@indot.in.gov

 

[Back to top]

 

IOWA

Randall Farber
Office of Location & Environment—Archaeology
Iowa Department of Transportation
800 Lincoln Way
Ames, IA 50010
Phone: (515) 239-1215
Fax: (515) 239-1726
Randall.Faber@dot.iowa.gov

 

Carl A. Merry
Director, Highway Archaeology Program
Office of the State Archaeologist
700 South Clinton Street Building
The University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242-1030
Phone: (319) 384-0737
carl-merry@uiowa.edu

 

KANSAS

Marsha K. King, Archeologist II
Environmental Services Section, Bureau of Design
Kansas Department of Transportation
Eisenhower State Office Building, 700 SW Harrison St.
Topeka, KS 66603-3745
Phone: (785) 296-8414
Fax: (785) 296-8399
marshak@ksdot.org

 

KENTUCKY

Archaeology
Division of Environmental Analysis
Kentucky Transportation Cabinet
200 Mero Street
Frankfort, Kentucky 40622

 

LOUISIANA

Elizabeth Davoli
Environmental Impact Specialist
Environmental Section
Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development
Post Office Box 94245
1201 Capital Access Rd.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9245
Phone: (225) 242-4505
Fax: (225) 242-4500
ElizabethDavoli@dotd.louisiana.gov

 

MAINE

David Gardner, Supervisor
Permits and Cultural Resources Unit
Maine Department of Transportation
16 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0016
Phone: (207) 624-3000
david.gardner@maine.gov

 

[Back to top]

 

MARYLAND

Julie M. Schablitsky, Ph.D., RPA
Cultural Resources Section, Chief
Maryland Department of Transportation
State Highway Administration
707 N. Calvert Street, CLL-4
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
Phone: (410) 545-8870
Fax: (410) 209-5004
jschablitsky@sha.state.md.us

 

MASSACHUSETTS

Cultural Resources Unit
Environmental Services
Massachusetts Highway Department
10 Park Plaza, Suite 3170
Boston, MA 02116
Phone: (617) 973-7800

 

MICHIGAN

James A. Robertson, Staff Archaeologist
Environmental Section
Michigan Department of Transportation
State Transportation Building
425 W. Ottawa St.
P.O. Box 30050
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone: (517) 335-2637
robertsonj3@michigan.gov

 

MINNESOTA

Joe Hudak
Cultural Resources
Office of Environmental Services
Minnesota Department of Transportation
6000 Minnehaha Ave.
Ft. Snelling, MN 55111
Phone: (651) 366-3612
joseph.hudak@dot.state.mn.us

 

MISSISSIPPI

Environment Division
Mississippi Department of Transportation
401 North West Street
P.O. Box 1850
Jackson, MS 39215-1850
Phone: (601) 359-1475

 

[Back to top]

 

MISSOURI

Robert Reeder
Cultural Resources Coordinator Historic Preservation Manager
Missouri Department of Transportation
Preliminary Studies Division Environmental & Historic Preservation Section
P.O. Box 270
Jefferson City, MO  65102
Phone: (573) 751-0473
Robert.Reeder@modot.mo.gov

 

Michael Meinkoth
MoDOT Assistant Historic Preservation Manager
601 W. Main St. / P.O. Box 270; Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 526-3593
Fax: (573) 526-1300
michael.meinkoth@modot.mo.gov

 

MONTANA

Dan Smith, Chief (acting)
Environmental Services Bureau
Montana Department of Transportation
2701 Prospect Avenue
PO Box 201001
Helena MT 59620-1001
Phone: (406) 444-0879
dansmith@mt.gov

 

NEBRASKA

Cindy Veys
Environmental Section Manager
Planning and Project Development
State of Nebraska Department of Roads
P.O. Box 94759, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4759
Phone: (402) 479-4410
cveys@dor.state.ne.us

 

Gayle Carlson
Nebraska Highway Archeology Program
Nebraska State Historical Society
Archeology Division
P.O. Box 82554
Lincoln NE 68501-2554
Phone: (402) 471-4790
Fax: (402) 471-3316
archnshs@nebraskahistory.org

 

NEVADA

Cultural Resources
Nevada Department of Transportation
1263 South Stewart Street
Carson City, NV  89172
Telephone:  775-888-7000
Fax:  775-888-7115

 

C. Cliff Creger, Chief Archaeologist
Nevada Department of Transportation
1263 South Stewart Street, Room 104
Carson City, NV  89712
Phone: (775) 888-7666
Fax: (775) 888-7104
ccreger@dot.state.nv.us

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Joyce McKay
Cultural Resource Manager
Bureau of Environment
New Hampshire Department of Transportation
Room 160
John O. Morton Building
7 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03302
Phone: (603) 271-3226
jmckay@dot.state.nh.us

 

[Back to top]

 

NEW JERSEY

No Information.
Send information to: hemrich@illinois.edu

 

NEW MEXICO

Blake Roxlau
Cultural Resources Bureau
New Mexico Department of Transportation
1120 Cerrillos Rd, Rm 213
Santa Fe, NM  87504-1149
Phone: (505) 827-5224
blake.roxlau@state.nm.us

 

NEW YORK

New York State Department of Transportation
Environmental Science Bureau
4th Floor, POD 41
50 Wolf Road
Albany, NY 12232

 

Mary Santangelo
Phone: (518) 485-9967
msantangelo@dot.state.ny.us

 

Linda Harvey-Opiteck
Phone: (518) 457-1722
lopiteck@dot.state.ny.us

 

Dr. Christina Rieth
State Archaeologist and Director,
Cultural Resource Survey Program
New York Stat Museum
Cultural Education Center
Albany, New York 12230
Phone: (518) 402-5975
crieth@mail.nysed.gov

 

NORTH CAROLINA

Project Development & Environmental Analysis Branch
Human Environment Unit, Archaeology Section
ATTN: Matt Wilkerson, Archaeology Supervisor
Phone: (919) 715-1561
mtwilkerson@dot.state.nc.us

 

Paul J. Mohler
NCDOT Archaeologist II
North Carolina Department of Transportation
1583 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC  27699-1583
Phone: (919-715-1555)
pjmohler@dot.state.nc.us

 

NORTH DAKOTA

Bob Christensen
Cultural Resource Section Leader - Design Division
North Dakota Department of Transportation
608 East Boulevard Ave
Bismarck, ND  58505-0700
Phone: (701) 328-4539
rchriste@nd.gov

 

[Back to top]

 

OHIO

Erica Schneider
Assistant Environmental Administrator
Office of Environmental Services
Mail Stop 4170
Ohio Department of Transportation
1980 West Broad Street
Columbus, OH 43223

 

Stanley Baker
Archaeology Team Leader
Office of Environmental Services
The Ohio Department of Transportation
1980 West Broad Street
Columbus, Ohio 43223
Phone: (614) 466-5143
Stanley.Baker@dot.state.oh.us

 

OKLAHOMA

Robert Bartlett
Director, OHCRP
111 East Chesapeake
University of Oklahoma
Norman, OK 73019
Phone: (405) 325-7201
rbartlett@ou.edu

 

OREGON

Carolyn McAleer
Archaeology Program Coordinator
Geo-Environmental Section
Oregon Department of Transportation
355 Capitol Street NE, Room 301
Salem, OR 97301-3871
Phone: (503) 986-3309
carolyn.p.mcaleer@odot.state.or.us

 

Chris Bell
Historic Resources Program Coordinator
Geo-Environmental Section
Oregon Department of Transportation
355 Capitol Street NE, Room 301
Salem, OR 97301-3871
Phone: (503) 986-3853
christopher.s.bell@odot.state.or.us

 

PENNSYLVANIA

Christine Kula
Senior Archaeologist
PENNDOT BOD/EQAD
PO Box 3790
Harrisburg, PA 17105-3790
Phone: (717) 783-9700
ckula@state.pa.us

 

RHODE ISLAND

Michael Hébert
Supervising Historic Preservation Specialist/Archaeologist
Office of Environmental Programs
Rhode Island Department of Transportation
Two Capitol Hill, Room 364
Providence, RI  02903
Phone: (401) 222-2023, ext. 4040
Fax: (401) 222-3006
mhebert@dot.ri.gov

 

[Back to top]

 

SOUTH CAROLINA

No Information.
Send information to: hemrich@illinois.edu

 

SOUTH DAKOTA

No Information.
Send information to: hemrich@illinois.edu

 

TENNESSEE

Martha Carver, Supervisor

Gerald Kline, Supervisor (615.741-5257)

Technical Studies Office, Historic Preservation Section
Environmental Division
Tennessee Department of Transportation
Suite 900, James K. Polk Bldg., 505 Deaderick St.
Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0334
Phone: (615) 253-2461
Fax: (615) 741-1098

 

TEXAS

Lisa J. Hart, Section Director
Cultural Resources Management
Environmental Affairs Division
125 E. 11th Street
Austin, TX  78701-2483
Phone: (512) 416-2626
Fax: (512) 416-2643
lhart0@dot.state.tx.us

 

UTAH

Betsy Skinner
Cultural Resources
Environmental Services
Utah Department of Transportation
4501 South 2700 West
Mail Stop 141200
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1200
Phone: (801) 965-4159
eskinner@utah.gov

 

[Back to top]

 

VERMONT

Duncan Wilkie
Environmental Section-4th floor
Vermont Agency of Transportation
1 National Life Drive-Drawer 33
Montpelier, VT  05633-5001
Phone: (802) 828-2169
Fax: (802) 828-2334
duncan.wilkie@state.vt.us

 

VIRGINIA

Cultural Resources Program
Environmental Division
Virginia Department of Transportation
1401 E. Broad St.
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 786-2801

 

WASHINGTON

Craig Holstine
CR Program Manager (Acting)
360-570-6639
holstinec@wsdot.wa.gov

 

Archaeologists 

Barbara Bundy
Phone: (360) 570-2448
bundyb@wsdot.wa.gov

 

Roger Kiers
Phone: (360) 570-6638
kiersro@wsdot.wa.gov

 

Pam Trautman
Phone: (360) 570-6636
trautmp@wsdot.wa.gov

 

Environmental Services Office
2214 RW Johnson Blvd. SW
Tumwater, WA  98512-6111

 

PO Box 47332
Olympia, WA  98504-7332
Phone: (360) 570-6636
Fax: (360) 570-6633

 

WEST VIRGINIA

WV Division of Highways,
Engineering Division, Environmental Services (DDE)
Building 5, Room 450
Charleston, WV 25305-0430
Phone: (304) 558-9670
Fax: (304) 558-7296

 

WISCONSIN

James J. Becker III
Archaeology Program Facilitator
BEES - Cultural Resources
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
4802 Sheboygan Ave.
P.O. Box 7965
Madison, WI 53707-7965
Phone: (608) 261-0137
Fax: (608) 264-6667
James.Becker@dot.state.wi.us

 

Linda Naunapper, PhD, RPA
Regional Environmental Coordinator
WisDOT SW Region
2101 Wright St., Madison, WI  53704
Phone: (608) 243-3372
linda.naunapper@dot.state.wi.us

 

Rosie Meer
Environmental Unit Lead; WisDOT NC Region
510 N. Hanson Lake Road, Rhinelander, WI 54501
Phone: (715) 365-5715
Toll Free: (888) 368-3478
Fas: (715) 365-5780
rosanne.meer@dot.state.wi.us

 

WYOMING

Dr. Julie Francis, Staff Archaeologist
Environmental Science
Wyoming Department of Transportation
5300 Bishop Blvd
Cheyenne, WY
82009-3340
Phone: (307) 777-4740

 

[Back to top]